Blog Memes

The Sunday Post: Rainy Day Comfort Streaming, Writing Updates, and Meditation

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimberly @ Caffeinated Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news~ A post to recap the past week on your blog and showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. See rules here: Sunday Post Meme.

Rainy Day Comfort Streaming, Writing Updates, and Meditation

Hey Bookdragons! Happy Sunday! How was your week? Mine has been pretty hectic to put it mildly. I’m way behind on returning comments (I’ll catch up soon, promise!), I just caught up on 3 upcoming ARC reviews, and I’m feeling a bit blue.

I’ve decided to finish writing the furthest along of my current writing projects in reverse – from the ending back. I’m feeling optimistic that this will allow me to complete the first draft by end of summer.

Piggybacking on last week’s talk about self-care, I tried out the meditation app Balance (which gives all new users a free trial for a year) to try to find more calm and happiness. I’m on day 6 and I think it’s helping somewhat. I feel more calm except when work got really stressful these past few days.

Yesterday we finally got some rain and I decided to spend the afternoon finishing my rewatch of Amazon Prime Video’s I Know What You Did Last Summer (tv show) then watched Halloween while using my candle melter lamp. It was very relaxing.

🔪 It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? – 5 June 2023

🔪 First Chapter, First Paragraph, Tuesday Intros: Where Echoes Die

🔪 Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Books That Feel/Look Like Summer

🔪 Can’t Wait Wednesday: The Bones of the Story

🔪 The Friday 56: Fourth Wing

🔪🔪Due to my life schedule, What I’m Binge-Watching will be moving to every other week to allow myself to make more progress on shows and actually have something to post about! 🔪🔪

🔪It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? – 12 June 2023

🔪 First Chapter, First Paragraph, Tuesday Intros: Fourth Wing

🔪 Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Bookish Wishes

🔪 Can’t Wait Wednesday: Hemlock Island

🔪 What I’m Binge-Watching: June 2-16, 2023

🔪 The Friday 56: Book TBD

🔪 Book Review: The Shadow Sister by Lily Mead

Audiobook:

Amazon First Reads:

None This Week

9 thoughts on “The Sunday Post: Rainy Day Comfort Streaming, Writing Updates, and Meditation

  1. Ooh ‘Fourth Wing’ looks amazing! I’m also jealous of the rain y’all have had, I’m craving some here to counterbalance the dryness and heat. I’m also on the lookout for an app to help me calm my brain a bit, so maybe I’ll give Balance a go. I’ve gone back to my old therapist’s advice to note down the small, good things about each day so that I end each day on a positive and happy note. It’s not quite a gratitude journal, but more like an “awareness to the good” journal, if that makes any sense? I hope you have a lovely and calm week ahead 🙂
    Juli @ A Universe in Words

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m enjoying Fourth Wing so far! It wasn’t a ton of rain. It’s still dry here but also really cold. I like Balance so far. I tried another app in the past but I can’t remember what it was called just that it wasn’t very helpful. I journal everyday and I’m trying to write down 3 things I’m grateful for a day and one thing I’m looking forward to as well (right now it’s a countdown to my next trip). I hope you have a great week too.

      Like

  2. I didn’t know Balance offered a full year trial free. I might look into that. I hope you find it helpful! And I hope this week is a bit calmer for you. I did chuckle over your relaxing viewing, though. Those two shows would give me nightmares for several nights running. I can’t do horror at all.

    Best of luck with your writing, and happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment