Blog Memes

The Sunday Post: Newly Licensed Driver, Good Day/Bad Day, and Catching up on Shows

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimberly @ Caffeinated Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news~ A post to recap the past week on your blog and showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. See rules here: Sunday Post Meme.

Newly Licensed Driver, Good Day/Bad Day, and Catching up on Shows

Hey Bookdragons! Happy Sunday! How is your weekend going? It’s a working one for me but I did manage to get some errands ran yesterday.

On Wednesday I had my DMV road test and… I passed! I am now a licensed driver who can go places without someone having to tag along! 🎉 Its such a relief and I can’t stop thinking of all the places I want to go!

Thursday to celebrate I decided to go get my nails done, have lunch at Chili’s, grab a Starbucks, and then do some grocery shopping. It was all very relaxing until I got to Chilis and no more than sat down and checked my phone and saw a text from one of my mom’s friends demanding – yes demanding, not asking – to know what time I would be arriving to visit my mom at the hospice center. And demanding to be advised of any changes in her health. It hit me the wrong way. This woman is not family and just because she has all the time day in and day out to sit by my mom doesn’t give her the right to guilt trip my sister or I by telling us we’re not visiting enough. Thursday was my last day off before going back to work and I hadn’t grocery shopped in about 2 weeks and needed food for dinners before I go to work. My sister and I also are still working full time. We are doing the best we can. And this was literally the day after I got my license and the hospice center is 45 miles from home in an area I’m not at all familiar with. All I wanted was a self-care day, was that too much to ask?

In other news, I’ve been catching up on shows I’ve either started watching or been meaning to watch. I just started rewatching NCIS on Netflix.

🔪 It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? – 10 July 2023

🔪 First Chapter, First Paragraph, Tuesday Intros: Summer Rental

🔪 Top Ten Tuesday: My 10 Most Anticipated Books Releasing During the Second Half of 2023

🔪 Can’t Wait Wednesday: Holly Horror

🔪 The Friday 56: Summer Rental

🔪 It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? – 17 July 2023

🔪 First Chapter, First Paragraph, Tuesday Intros: Heartless

🔪 Can’t Wait Wednesday: A Haunting on the Hill

🔪 What I’m Binge-Watching

🔪 The Friday 56: Heartless

Ebooks:

eARCs:

10 thoughts on “The Sunday Post: Newly Licensed Driver, Good Day/Bad Day, and Catching up on Shows

  1. Congrats on getting your licence! I got mine three years ago, and it’s definitely a good feeling! I’m sorry you’re dealing with so much stress. I hope you enjoyed your self-care day, it sounds like you definitely deserved it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congrats on the licence! I’ve also been thinking about finally getting mine, but it’s so expensive here xD And yeah, your mom’s friend is stepping outside her lane a bit in my honest opinion. It’s really great she is able to be there for your mom, but she can’t go guilt-tripping you or your sister for doing what you need to do and also giving yourself time to relax?! Enjoy your new reads! I hope you have a good week 🙂
    Juli @ A Universe in Words

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Good luck if you decide to get yours! Financially it wasn’t bad since I did driver’s ed in high school the only cost I had was for the test and the license once I passed which was only about $43.

      Exactly, unfortunately this friend of hers likes to insert herself in situations she has no business in and take over.

      Thanks! I hope you have a good week too!

      Like

  3. Congrats on the license! That’s great news! I’m sorry for the stress you are going through. Many virtual hugs to you. I love all the Christmas book covers. Enjoy them. I hope you have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment