Blog Memes

The Sunday Post: Dark Days, The Support of Family Friends, and Living in the Moment

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimberly @ Caffeinated Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news~ A post to recap the past week on your blog and showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. See rules here: Sunday Post Meme.

Dark Days, The Support of Family Friends, and Living in the Moment

Hey Bookdragons! Happy Sunday. It’s been two weeks since I participated in The Sunday Post again and I’m about to explain why…

On Wednesday, June 21st my mom was supposed to go in for an MRI. Due to a series of events she didn’t make it to the appointment on time and my sister took her to the emergency room instead. She’d been confused and had a headache on and off for a week at this point. At the ER after an MRI was done it was discovered that her cancer had spread to her brain with more than 12 tumors, some the size of marbles. I took off Thursday the 22nd and went along to the radiation oncologist who explained that the cancer is aggressive and resistant to treatment and doing radiation would not prolong things much longer. We were given a prognosis of 3 weeks to a month, two months if lucky. So that weekend I of course took a social media break to spend time with my family. It’s been a long couple weeks of planning for the future, getting hospice sent in, and funeral planning in advance. The good thing is my mom is in good spirits at this time.

I am so grateful for our extended family and friends who have been amazingly supportive since we got the prognosis. I really feel, unlike when I was my grandmother’s caregiver, that I have a support system to fall back on. Even work has been amazingly understanding.

Right now we’re trying to live in the moment and take things day by day. There are some things my mom would like to do and we’re trying to make it happen for her. On a smaller note, I did learn to parallel park since my last post and I accomplished it on my first try. Road test in less than 2 weeks now. I also gave my bedroom a fall/Halloween makeover to cheer myself up.

🔪 It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? – 19 June 2023

🔪 Book Review: You’re Not Supposed to Die Tonight by Kalynn Bayron

🔪 Can’t Wait Wednesday: Hemlock Island!

🔪 Book Review: Where Echoes Die by Courtney Gould

🔪 Book Review: Where Darkness Blooms by Andrea Hannah

🔪 Book Review: The Shadow Sister by Lily Meade

🔪 Book Review: The Camp by Nancy Bush

🔪 Book Review: Fourth Wing by Rebecca Yarros

🔪 It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? – 3 July 2023

🔪 First Chapter, First Paragraph, Tuesday Intros: Reckless

🔪 Can’t Wait Wednesday: Holly Horror

🔪 Book Review: Reckless by Elsie Silver

🔪 The Friday 56: Reckless by Elsie Silver

🔪 (Audio)book Review: The Veil by Rachel Harrison

Might try to squeeze in a What I’m Binge-Watching post if I make much progress on shows.

Kindle Unlimited:

Audible:

Elsie Silver Bonus Material

A Duet with the Siren Duke (Signed Hardcover) – PREORDER

10 thoughts on “The Sunday Post: Dark Days, The Support of Family Friends, and Living in the Moment

  1. I’m sorry about your mum – spending time with family is definitely important. Good luck on the driving test – I finally got my licence at 48 – after taking the test 3 times!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m so sorry your mom is sick. I’m glad you are getting to spend time with her. And yay for parallel parking. I got really good at it when I lived in an urban area and it was either learn fast or get rid of my car!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I am sorry to hear about your mother’s condition, Taylor. I cannot even imagine. It really does make one realize how little time we have and what is really important. I am glad you have the support of family and friends, as well as work. That really does make a difference. Take care!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m very sorry your mom got that devastating diagnosis and I’m glad that the two of you have a good support system. I hope she’s able to do the things she wants to do this month.

    Congrats on parallel parking!!!! I can’t do it and will park several blocks away rather than attempt it. LOL

    I love your Halloween bedroom!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. We did get to do a couple things so far. She’s been in respite care since Thursday night due to a fall though.

      Thank you! I personally think parallel parking is the dumbest thing but just in case I get tested on it this week.

      Thanks! I love it too and I’m so happy with how it turned out!

      Like

Leave a comment